Two birds with one stone – Clean Produce and a Clean Sink

I began this handy habit after reading a tip about soaking your fruits and veggies in vinegar to remove dirt and pesticides; however, I have made a few adjustments to the original tip to kill two birds with one stone.

Sinks are infamously one of the most bacteria ridden places you will ever contact. If you are like me, the idea of soaking your fruits and veggies in such a dirty tub grosses you out a bit. In addition, my attempts to keep my sink clean were infrequent at best.

So, now, when I get home from the grocery store I immediately begin the process of disinfecting my kitchen sink and removing harmful pesticides from my produce. It is easiest for me to do this as soon as I get home from the grocery store, otherwise I don’t get around to it.

I begin by placing a kettle of water on the stove to boil. While the water is heating I thoroughly clean out my sink using the cleanser of my choice. While I am not a fan of excess chemicals I use bleach and scrub down the sink well (it’s hard to beat the disinfecting power of bleach). Once the water has boiled I take the kettle and carefully pour it around the sink to rinse off the cleaning agent and further disinfect. This is also a great time to clean your cutting boards (boiling water is really the only effective way to kill the bacteria that makes it’s way into the little nooks and crannies in the boards).

Once I make sure I have rinsed all the cleaner out of the newly disinfected sink I fill it about halfway with water. I then add about half a cup to a full cup (depending on the size of the sink and amount of produce) of apple cider vinegar to the water. Next, I add a few tablespoons of baking soda and about 30 drops of grapefruit seed extract. (I keep a similar mixture in a spray bottle for the occasional fruits or veggies that miss the bath)

Then, I add all the produce I bought at the grocery store that day. I leave leafy green and berries in the bag, but make sure that the vinegar mixture fills it up. I leave the produce to soak as long as I can (anywhere from 30 minutes to 2 hours… less for leafy green and berries, more for hard skinned fruits like apples).

Lastly, I rinse the produce in plain water and allow it to dry before putting it in those handy CO2 catching bags (green bags). Remember, the old plastic bags that you brought the produce home in are coated in pesticides and should be tossed.

Now, after only a short period of time I have a fridge full of clean and ready-to-eat produce and a nicely sanitized sink! Works well for me J

Leave a Reply

